I Tested Ways to Make My Period Lighter // What I Did + Results

Hey everything!! Welcome back to The Girl’s Guide.

Today I am sharing my experience trying to lessen the effects of my period.

Did I say I was going to post this in September? Yes, I did. I apologize for the lack of posting. 😦 Life got really busy and to be honest, I didn’t have much to say.

It turned out being good I waited because I had time to fully test these tricks.

I won’t leave you all waiting any longer, let’s find out whether I found a secret all woman must know (I sound like an ad :/)


First off, what did I do?

  • Drink at least 8 cups of water a day
  • Exercise (30 minute to an hour) each day
  • Eat healthy (no sugar, less breads, more vegetables and fruits)
  • Eat food high in potassium
  • Put ice pack on cramps

Ngl I was expecting this not to work. At all.

Considering I need to drink more water and exercise more anyway I was like WHY NOT?! So I did.

And it turned out… interesting

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

It worked!!

My period (read this post to see what my period used to look like) went from 5-6 days to 3-4 days. I have had no cramps. Plus, my flow has been very light.

Disclaimer: These are my results after making this a lifestyle for multiple months, it didn’t happen in a week.

What exactly did I do?

Yes, I know I made the list about from my own research, but what did I stick to and discard?

I didn’t eat high potassium foods (or at least didn’t make an extra effort to).

I didn’t use an ice pack once.

I did drink 8-11 cups of water each day.

I did do heavy exercise for at least 30 minutes each morning.

I did cut out most sugar (though not completely) and white flour carbs.

The three things above are simple. Hard, but simple. Things I believe should be done purely for the sake of taking care of the body God has given you.

Truth is, there’s not perfect fix. Nothings going to cure you by eating one thing. It’s a mix of different things and doing them consistently. Not just when you’re on your period.

Of course, you can have “cheat” days. You can eat sugar. You can eat carbs. You just need to use moderation and balance with vegetables, protein, and other healthy foods.


Okay, okay, I am super excited about this “new period.” I seriously want every single one of you to be able to experience not having an entire week of pain.

Before I end this post, I’d like to also mention creating this new lifestyle helped my hormones and mood shifts and even cravings so much.

Do you have any tips or tricks for making your period lighter, shorter, or curing symptoms? If so, comment them below!!

16 thoughts on “I Tested Ways to Make My Period Lighter // What I Did + Results

Leave a comment